pkgusr
22 months agoAdd '/var/lib/colord/.cache' to Bastard prune_prefixes master
Steve Youngs [Sat, 10 Jun 2017 01:23:36 +0000 (11:23 +1000)] 
Add '/var/lib/colord/.cache' to Bastard prune_prefixes

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from (Bastard prune_prefixes): Add
/var/lib/colord/.cache

* usr/bin/list_suspicious_files (Bastard prune_prefixes): Ditto.

* usr/bin/grep_all_regular_files_for (Bastard prune_prefixes):
Ditto.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
2 years agoPipe ipkg/gpkg through less for Zsh pkgtools as well
Steve Youngs [Wed, 4 May 2016 06:58:45 +0000 (16:58 +1000)] 
Pipe ipkg/gpkg through less for Zsh pkgtools as well

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
2 years agoUse less(1) options to negate the need for a useless and lame shell func.
Steve Youngs [Wed, 4 May 2016 01:33:27 +0000 (11:33 +1000)] 
Use less(1) options to negate the need for a useless and lame shell func.

* etc/pkgusr/bash_profile (LESS): Add 'F' and 'X' which will allow
getting rid of that silly less-or-cat() shell function.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (less-or-cat): Removed.
Update all functions/aliases to use less instead of less-or-cat.
(showinst,showgen,instg): Pipe output through less.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
3 years agoAdd /etc/mail/spamassassin to prune prefixes
Steve Youngs [Mon, 7 Dec 2015 01:46:38 +0000 (11:46 +1000)] 
Add /etc/mail/spamassassin to prune prefixes

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from (prune_prefixes): Add
'/etc/mail/spamassassin' to the bastard settings.

* usr/bin/list_suspicious_files (prune_prefixes): Ditto.

* usr/bin/grep_all_regular_files_for (prune_prefixes): Ditto

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
3 years agoHave pkgusrs run ldconfig on logout.
Steve Youngs [Fri, 26 Jun 2015 13:34:57 +0000 (23:34 +1000)] 
Have pkgusrs run ldconfig on logout.

All too often a package installation doesn't include running ldconfig,
this takes care of that by running it whenever a pkgusr logs out.

Also, add a .gitconfig

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (pkgsu): Ensure a login shell.

* etc/pkgusr/bash_logout: New.  Just runs ldconfig on logout.

* etc/pkgusr/skel-package/.gitconfig: New.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
3 years agoAdd /etc/pam.d to bastard prune_prefixes
Steve Youngs [Sun, 24 May 2015 13:20:50 +0000 (23:20 +1000)] 
Add /etc/pam.d to bastard prune_prefixes

* script_updates:
  Add a couple of dirs to prune_prefixes for bastard settings

3 years agoAdd a couple of dirs to prune_prefixes for bastard settings
Steve Youngs [Sun, 24 May 2015 13:14:57 +0000 (23:14 +1000)] 
Add a couple of dirs to prune_prefixes for bastard settings

IMO /etc/pam.d should be 0700 root:root, with the files therein being 0600
root:root.  So that is how I have it.  Pruning it out in the pkgusr
scripts.

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from (prune_prefixes): Add /etc/pam.d
to the bastard settings.

* usr/bin/list_suspicious_files (prune_prefixes): Ditto.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
4 years agoUpdate uninstall script.
Steve Youngs [Tue, 21 Apr 2015 12:48:27 +0000 (22:48 +1000)] 
Update uninstall script.

With this changeset the uninstall script should be a lot more
robust. "sub-packages" are handled, directories are only removed if they
are empty, and something more proactive is done about setuid files.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/uninstall_package (usage): Reword it, taking into
account needing pkgname arg.
(check_suid): New.
(dry_run): Use it.
(run): Ditto.
Handle empty directories more intelligently.
Don't wipe out the .project file if uninstalling a "sub-pkg".

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
4 years agoAdd another dir to prune out
Steve Youngs [Tue, 21 Apr 2015 12:23:10 +0000 (22:23 +1000)] 
Add another dir to prune out

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
4 years agoUpdate prune_prefixes for bastard settings
Steve Youngs [Sat, 13 Sep 2014 00:27:26 +0000 (10:27 +1000)] 
Update prune_prefixes for bastard settings

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
5 years agoSupport sub-groups in pkgusr.el
Steve Youngs [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 13:09:39 +0000 (23:09 +1000)] 
Support sub-groups in pkgusr.el

* sxe-update:
  Support pkg sub-groups in pkgusr-cmd-pkg/pkgusr-file-pkg

5 years agoSupport pkg sub-groups in pkgusr-cmd-pkg/pkgusr-file-pkg
Steve Youngs [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 13:09:02 +0000 (23:09 +1000)] 
Support pkg sub-groups in pkgusr-cmd-pkg/pkgusr-file-pkg

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-cmd-pkg): Use the new #'user-group-name
from latest SXEmacs.  This fixes the issue of a pkgusr sub-group
being displayed as "nil".
(pkgusr-file-pkg): Ditto.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/update-pkg-project: Always exit zero.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@steveyoungs.com>
5 years agoSXEmacs related updates
Steve Youngs [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 15:15:22 +0000 (01:15 +1000)] 
SXEmacs related updates

* sxe-fixes:
  Pretty decent overhaul of the elisp tools.

5 years agoPretty decent overhaul of the elisp tools.
Steve Youngs [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 15:14:11 +0000 (01:14 +1000)] 
Pretty decent overhaul of the elisp tools.

Most interactive defuns can now optionally insert their results into the
current buffer at point.

The list of packages is now only evaled at load time to reduce
processing.  Relevant defuns can re-eval explicitly via prefix arg.

* etc/pkgusr/bash_profile (CHECKUPDATES): Don't checkupdates if
$TERM is "dumb".  This allows TRAMP to still function if a pkgusr
would have gotten the update message on a normal login.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-all-pkgs): New variable to hold list of
installed packages so we don't have to calculate it every time it
is used.
(pkgusr-all-pkgs-update): New.  Updates above, to be optionally
used in the rest of pkgusr.el.
(pkgusr-pkgs-count): Use it.
(pkgusr-list-pkgs-regexp): Ditto.  Also optionally insert result
into current buffer at point.
(pkgusr-pkg-details): Pop to a buffer displaying a package's
filelist and other details.
(pkgusr-show-pkg): Remove its argument, it was never intended to
be called non-interactively.  Update the packages list via prefix
arg.  Use #'pkgusr-pkg-details
(pkgusr-pkg-install-notes): Ditto.
(pkgusr-pkg-general-notes): Ditto.
(pkgusr-cmd-pkg): Insert into buffer with prefix arg.
Error out if the file owner or group isn't a pkgusr
(pkgusr-file-pkg): Ditto.
(pkgusr-project-file): New.
(pkgusr-pkg-url): Use it.  Optionally insert into buffer.
Optionally force update of packages list.
(pkgusr-pkg-repo): Ditto.
(pkgusr-pkg-version): Ditto.
(pkgusr-pkg-description): Ditto.
(pkgusr-pkg-deps): Ditto.
(pkgusr-find-file): Force update of packages list via prefix arg.
(pkgusr-pkg-rdeps): New.  Returns a list of reverse dependencies
of a package. IOW, what packages need a package.

* lisp/bld-update.el: Typo fix.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@bastard.steveyoungs.com>
5 years agoUpdate script fix
Steve Youngs [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 00:56:59 +0000 (10:56 +1000)] 
Update script fix

* upp-fix:
  Prevent update-pkg-project returning false-positives

5 years agoPrevent update-pkg-project returning false-positives
Steve Youngs [Sat, 15 Mar 2014 00:56:33 +0000 (10:56 +1000)] 
Prevent update-pkg-project returning false-positives

* usr/lib/pkgusr/pkgawk.awk: New.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/update-pkg-project (pkgawk): The new awk script
file for the hairy dependency extractor.  This is a slightly
modified version of the "one-liner" that is more robust and
doesn't catch false-positives.
(upd_pkg_deps): Use it.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoFix update-pkg-project script
Steve Youngs [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 00:53:32 +0000 (10:53 +1000)] 
Fix update-pkg-project script

* upp-fix:
  Prevent update-pkg-project from needlessly spamming stderr

5 years agoPrevent update-pkg-project from needlessly spamming stderr
Steve Youngs [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 00:52:41 +0000 (10:52 +1000)] 
Prevent update-pkg-project from needlessly spamming stderr

* usr/lib/pkgusr/update-pkg-project (upd_pkg_deps): Prevent stderr
getting spammed.
(TIMESTAMP,DEPS): New.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoA truck load of updates/fixes/tweaks
Steve Youngs [Wed, 12 Mar 2014 08:05:16 +0000 (18:05 +1000)] 
A truck load of updates/fixes/tweaks

* fixes/updates:
  A few more minor tweaks.
  Fix nasty bug in chmod, plus minor fixes.
  Fix a bug that was exposed by the SXEmacs configure script.
  Try to make it easier for when I update the build script template.
  Fix a bunch of little things from the previous changeset.
  Major overhaul -- most scripts rewritten or updated.

5 years agoA few more minor tweaks.
Steve Youngs [Wed, 12 Mar 2014 08:03:54 +0000 (18:03 +1000)] 
A few more minor tweaks.

* etc/pkgusr/skel-package/build (update_commands): Just use
update-pkg-project.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (find_pkg_deps): Removed.  Wasn't all
that handy.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (build-update): Copy the new build script
into ${HOME}/build-YYYYmmdd if SXEmacs isn't installed to allow
for manual update.

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from (IGNORE_READDIR_RACE): For use
primarily in the uninstall script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/uninstall_package (run): The -ignore_readdir_race
option can't be used here directly.  It is now in
forall_direntries_from and activated via env varibable set in this
script.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoFix nasty bug in chmod, plus minor fixes.
Steve Youngs [Wed, 12 Mar 2014 04:05:17 +0000 (14:05 +1000)] 
Fix nasty bug in chmod, plus minor fixes.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chmod: My idea for converting symbolic chmods
into numeric was completely wrong.  Rewrite to work on the
symbolic directly without converting them.

Only reset $@ if it is necessary.

Don't call $DAISY_CHAIN via exec.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chgrp: Don't use exec.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chown: Ditto.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/mkdir: Ditto.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/install (_perms): Fix as per chmod.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoFix a bug that was exposed by the SXEmacs configure script.
Steve Youngs [Tue, 11 Mar 2014 04:16:31 +0000 (14:16 +1000)] 
Fix a bug that was exposed by the SXEmacs configure script.

Under certain conditions a directory could be created with no execute bit
set (600 instead of 700).  When the chmod wrapper (and install) encounter
symbolic permissions they are converted to octal by stat'ing a temp file
that was chmod'd with the symbolic perm.  Because of the obnoxious and
convoluted way that autoconf does things, that chmod had to be called
under an exec.

This changeset cares for that plus a couple of other tiny things like
always testing for root with `id -u' instead of $UID.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chmod: Use id to check for root because $UID
cannot be guaranteed to exist.

Only remove real options to guard against accidently removing a
symbolic perm that begins with a dash.  I don't even know if that
is possible, I've never used symbolic perms, never will, they're a
stupid idea.

Create the hack-o-matic file with mktemp and call $DAISY_CHAIN
there via exec.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chgrp: Use id for root check.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chown: Ditto.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/mkdir: Ditto.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/install: Ditto.
(_perms): Use mktemp, the same as in the chmod wrapper.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoTry to make it easier for when I update the build script template.
Steve Youngs [Mon, 10 Mar 2014 09:09:43 +0000 (19:09 +1000)] 
Try to make it easier for when I update the build script template.

It's most likely incredibly hacky, but this changeset gives a pkgusr a way
to incrementally and interactively apply updates to their build script
when the central template script in /etc/pkgusr/skel-package is updated.

If the central template script is newer than the pkgusr's a notice is
printed to their stdout on login that contains further instructions of how
to proceed.

The actual updating is done via #'ediff-files in an interactive SXEmacs
session.  That way the pkgusr can "cherrypick" the changes.

* lisp/bld-update.el: New.  Update build scripts via ediff.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (build-update): New.  Calls SXEmacs with
ediff-files on ~/build and /etc/pkgusr/skel-package/build
(checkupdates): Checks to see if the build script in
/etc/pkgusr/skel-package is newer than the one in $HOME

* etc/pkgusr/bash_profile (CHECKUPDATES): New.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoFix a bunch of little things from the previous changeset.
Steve Youngs [Mon, 10 Mar 2014 03:27:58 +0000 (13:27 +1000)] 
Fix a bunch of little things from the previous changeset.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chgrp: Fix shell quoting.
Better test for GIDs vs names

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chmod: Fix shell quoting.
Fix inf-loop in symbol->octal conversion.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chown: Fix shell quoting.
Fix logic in user test.
Better tests for UID/GID vs names.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/install: Re-factor getopts cmdline parsing.
(_dirs): Use $pristinecmd instead of $@,
exit if not creating directory.
(_leading_dirs): Removed, not needed.
(_perms): Better test for symbol vs octal.
Call /bin/chmod directly in the hack-o-matic.
(_group): Better test for GID vs name
(_owner): Better test for UID vs name

* usr/lib/pkgusr/mkdir:  Remove spurious `fi'.
Logged 'install cmd suggestion' had incorrect -g option.

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from (prune_prefixes): Add
/usr/lib/pkgusr.  Non-pkgusrs are not allowed in this directory
anymore.

* usr/bin/grep_all_regular_files_for (prune_prefixes): Ditto.

* etc/pkgusr/bash_profile (SUPPRESSLOCALEDIR): Typo.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoMajor overhaul -- most scripts rewritten or updated.
Steve Youngs [Sun, 9 Mar 2014 06:33:48 +0000 (16:33 +1000)] 
Major overhaul -- most scripts rewritten or updated.

* etc/pkgusr/bash_profile (LESSCHARSET): Everything's god-damned
UTF-8 these days
(PKG_CONFIG_PATH): More readable.
(SUPPRESSLOCALEDIR): Add.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (find_pkg_deps): New.
(instg): New, for grepping install logs for '*** msg'.
(less-or-cat): New, for log viewing, does what it says.
(H-pkg): Much nicer format, pipe through less.
General tidy up.  Convert a lot of tiny functions to aliases, plus
added a couple of new ones... ipkg->showinst, gpkg->showgen

* etc/pkgusr/skel-package/build (SRCTREE): New.
(configure_commands): Use $SRCTREE
(update_commands): Use find_pkg_deps()

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (pkgwant): Use grep -w to eliminate
false positives.

* etc/sudoers.d/99-pkgusr: New.  Sudo config to allow pkgusrs to
run ldconfig as root.

* usr/bin/forall_direntries_from: Update Bastard settings.
Make -noleaf optional, default off.
Update comments.

* usr/bin/grep_all_regular_files_for: Ditto.

* usr/bin/list_suspicious_files: Ditto.

* usr/bin/header-symbol-search: Update Bastard settings.

* usr/bin/library-symbol-search: Ditto.

* usr/bin/lesspipe.sh: Get charset from `file -i' to see if
strings can be used.

* usr/bin/uninstall_package (run): Only remove directories if they
are empty.
Do NOT let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chgrp: Handle cases where chgrp options are used
and also where the user is not a member of the group trying to be
changed to.  Handle both names and GIDs
Don't let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chmod: Handle cases where chmod options are used
and also all set{uid,gid,sticky} bit operations.
Don't let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/chown: Rewrite.  Handle all chown scenarios.
Don't let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/mkdir: Comment about the irrelevance to my
needs.
Don't let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/update-pkg-project (upd_pkg_deps): New, use it,
does what it says.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/install: Complete rewrite.
Don't let root use this script.

* usr/lib/pkgusr/ldconfig: New. Wrapper to run ldconfig via sudo.

* installdir.lst: Update.

* README: Update.

* LFS-pkgusr-hint.txt: Updated to current version of the
LFS hint.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agoFix Zsh completion
Steve Youngs [Fri, 14 Feb 2014 03:39:51 +0000 (13:39 +1000)] 
Fix Zsh completion

* zsh-completion:
  Rewrite Zsh completion

5 years agoRewrite Zsh completion
Steve Youngs [Fri, 14 Feb 2014 03:39:20 +0000 (13:39 +1000)] 
Rewrite Zsh completion

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/_zsh-pkgtools: Rewrite.  User completion is done
on _JUST_ the package users and not all users.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
5 years agooh crap... Typo
Steve Youngs [Thu, 13 Feb 2014 11:29:56 +0000 (21:29 +1000)] 
oh crap... Typo

5 years agoMinor zsh updates
Steve Youngs [Thu, 13 Feb 2014 11:08:00 +0000 (21:08 +1000)] 
Minor zsh updates

* minor_tweaks:
  Update the Zsh pkgtools.

5 years agoUpdate the Zsh pkgtools.
Steve Youngs [Thu, 13 Feb 2014 11:07:29 +0000 (21:07 +1000)] 
Update the Zsh pkgtools.

Added a function to find reverse dependencies and fixed a couple of minor
niggling things.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (pkgwant): New function that lists
packages that depend on a certain pkg.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (H-pkg): Mention pkgwant().

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (xtar,vtar): Fix bug where xz files
weren't being detected.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (pkg_ldconfig): Prevent spurious
output.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/_zsh-pkgtools: Tab-complete users for pkgwant.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
6 years agoAdd rudimentary dep tracking
Steve Youngs [Sun, 3 Feb 2013 02:41:03 +0000 (12:41 +1000)] 
Add rudimentary dep tracking

* pkgdeps:
  Add some rudimentary dependency tracking.

6 years agoAdd some rudimentary dependency tracking.
Steve Youngs [Sun, 3 Feb 2013 02:39:46 +0000 (12:39 +1000)] 
Add some rudimentary dependency tracking.

"tracking" is probably an over-statement.  What this does is to store a
package's run-time so deps (gleaned from ldd) in its .project.  The build
script template has been updated to find/store them, and functions have
been added to handy_funcs to view them.

I've also gotten rid of most of the uses of pinky in the aux functions and
simplified them.

* etc/pkgusr/skel-package/.project (Deps): New.

* etc/pkgusr/skel-package/build (update_commands): Add magic to
find the run-time deps.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (deps): Show the dependencies.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (H-pkg): Add `deps'.

* etc/pkgusr/handy_funcs (showinst,showgen,srepo,trepo,web):
Remove unnecessary use of pinky.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/_zsh-pkgtools: Add `dpkg'.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (H-pkg): Add `dpkg'.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (dpkg): New.

* etc/pkgusr/zsh/zsh-pkgtools (upkg,Lpkg,vpkg,ipkg,gpkg,wpkg,pkgrepo):
        Remove unnecessary use of pinky, sed, etc to simplify.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-pkg-deps): New.  Bind `H-c D' to it.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-pkg-url): Remove unnecessary use of pinky.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-pkg-repo): Ditto.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-pkg-version): Ditto.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-pkg-description): Ditto.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
6 years agominor updates
Steve Youngs [Wed, 19 Dec 2012 00:55:29 +0000 (10:55 +1000)] 
minor updates

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
6 years agoFix Tramp usage
Steve Youngs [Sat, 23 Jun 2012 04:06:55 +0000 (14:06 +1000)] 
Fix Tramp usage

* tramp-fix:
  Fix Tramp usage.

6 years agoFix Tramp usage.
Steve Youngs [Sat, 23 Jun 2012 04:05:07 +0000 (14:05 +1000)] 
Fix Tramp usage.

The Tramp in XEmacs packages is a gazillion years out of date, things have
changed... Most notably, the multi-hop syntax.

* lisp/pkgusr.el (pkgusr-find-file): Update for latest Tramp.

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>
8 years agoInitial git import v0.5
Steve Youngs [Tue, 30 Nov 2010 15:25:40 +0000 (01:25 +1000)] 
Initial git import

Signed-off-by: Steve Youngs <steve@sxemacs.org>